PCG Staff &
Board of Directors

PCG Staff

Executive Director:

Jillian Plochocki-Smallwood, MS

Jillian received her BS in Biology and her MS in Health Services Administration from the University of Saint Francis. Jillian brings 13 years of experience working in the non-profit sector, with a focus in oncology.  She has worked for both the American Cancer Society and most recently with Northwestern Medicine’s psychosocial oncology program as the program director.

  [email protected]

Aug 148 (2)
Director, Data Management:

Rossio Rodriguez, CTR

Rossio received her BS in Health Information Management and a minor in Allied Health from Southwestern Oklahoma State University.  She has been working in the oncology field for the past 9 years. Rossio is a Certified Tumor Registrar and has worked in the hospital setting as a Cancer Registrar.  Her knowledge in this field is what sparked her interest to take a role in clinical research.  She has been with PCG for 5 years.

  [email protected]

Matthew Morocco Headshot
Research Project Manager:

Matthew Morocco

Matthew received his BS in Biology from Western Illinois University.  He has worked in oncology for 11 years and has been in oncology research for the past 4 years.  Matthew also has a background and formal training in emergency medicine.  His passion and experiences in the medical field is what drove his interest in pursuing oncology research.  Most recently he served as a study coordinator for Northwestern Medicine Cancer Centers in Chicago’s West Region.

  • BestMe_20170223132704
Research Project Manager:

Tisha Adams, MS, CCRC

Tish graduated with both her BS in Pre-Veterinary Medicine and MS in Physiology from Oklahoma State University. She is a Certified Clinical Research Coordinator with membership through ACRP. Tish brings 12 years past experience conducting pharmaceutical and device trials in the areas of cardiology, digestive disease and neurophysiology. Most recently she served as the study coordinator at ProCure in Oklahoma City.

  [email protected]


Board of Directors


William Hartsell, MD

Northwestern Medicine Chicago Proton Center

Dr. Hartsell is the president of Radiation Oncology Consultants (ROC) and the medical director of the Northwestern Medicine Chicago Proton Center. He completed his residency at Rush-Presbyterian St. Luke’s Medical Center in Chicago, where he spent six years as an assistant professor and three years as director of the residency program. He then moved to Memphis, where he was an Associate Professor at the University of Tennessee, and on the consulting staff at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. Dr. Hartsell returned to Chicago and joined ROC in 1997. He is on the Board of Directors for the National Association for Proton Therapy, and is active in ASTRO on the Health Policy Committee.

Vice President/Treasurer:

Andrew Chang, MD

ProCure Oklahoma City, The California Proton Therapy Cancer Treatment Center, Hampton University Proton Therapy Institute

Dr. Chang is a radiation oncology specialist with expertise in treating patients with breast cancer and pediatric cancer patients with proton beam therapy. He is also extensively involved in research and is the Principal Investigator in an ongoing multi-institutional trial utilizing proton therapy for partial breast irradiation. Before coming onboard at California Protons, he served as the director of the pediatric programs at the Hampton University Proton Therapy Institute, the Midwest Proton Radiotherapy Institute, as well as the ProCure proton therapy center. He completed a pediatric internship and residency in radiation oncology at Loma Linda University Medical Center and subsequently did a fellowship in pediatric oncology at St. Jude Children’s Hospital.


Bradford Hoppe, MD, MPH

University of Florida Proton Therapy Institute

Dr. Hoppe is an Associate Professor in the Department of Radiation Oncology at the University of Florida, specializing in the management of patients with Hodgkin lymphoma, non-Hodgkin lymphoma, lung cancer and prostate cancer. He currently holds the James E. Lockwood, Jr., Endowed Chair of Proton Therapy. An established cancer researcher, Dr. Hoppe is the principal investigator on five clinical trials and the author of over 70 published manuscripts and book chapters in various peer-reviewed medical journals, including Journal of Clinical Oncology, Cancer, Journal of Thoracic Oncology, Bone Marrow Transplant, Radiotherapy and Oncology and the International Journal of Radiation Oncology Biology Physics. His research focus has been on reducing side effects of radiation and better understanding patient reported quality of life outcomes among patients with lung cancer, prostate cancer and lymphoma.

Member at Large:

Dr. Minesh Mehta

Miami Cancer Institute

Dr. Mehta is a world-renowned expert in radiation oncology, proton therapy and cancer research.  He was named Deputy Director and Chief of Radiation Oncology of Miami Cancer Institute at Baptist Health South Florida in November of 2015 to oversee South Florida’s first and only Proton Therapy Center as well as other responsibilities.
He comes to Baptist Health from the University of Maryland’s Proton Treatment Center, where he launched the mid-Atlantic’s first dedicated pencil-beam proton treatment center and served as its Medical Director. In addition, he was associate director of clinical research at the University of Maryland School of Medicine’s Department of Radiation Oncology.
Previously, he was the chairman of the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health’s Department of Human Oncology, where he led numerous research studies, innovative technology innovation and implementation (Tomotherapy), and substantial practice expansion of the University of Wisconsin Cancer Center Clinical operations.  He was also program leader for the University of Wisconsin’s Comprehensive Cancer Center’s Imaging and Radiation Sciences Program for under 15 years, led a program project grant in radiation oncology, and has been the chair of the RTOG/NRG oncology’s brain tumor committee for over 15 years.
Dr. Mehta has designed and led several national and international clinical studies, receiving NIH and NCI grants and been awarded many honors.  He has held national leadership positions in numerous organizations including the American Board of Radiology, the FDA Radiological Devices Panel, the American Society for Radiation Oncology, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the Society of Neuro-Oncology, etc.
A well-respected clinician and researcher, Dr. Mehta has over a thousand publications, including medical journal manuscripts, book chapters, and professional abstracts, and serves on the editorial board of several peer-reviewed journals.
Dr. Mehta graduated from the University of Zambia School of Medicine and completed his residency at the University of Wisconsin, where he was chief resident in radiation oncology.


Member at Large:

George Laramore, PhD, MD

Seattle Cancer Care Alliance Proton Center

Dr. Laramore received a PhD in Theoretical Physics from the University of Illinois and an MD from the University of Miami. He is Board certified in Therapeutic Radiology and Radiation Oncology and also served as the Chair of Department of Radiation Oncology at the University of Washington from 1999-2013. Dr. Laramore is the founding Medical Director of the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance Proton Facility. His primary research interest is in biological properties of high linear energy transfer (LET) radiation.